Evopos Help - 2.09.068

The full Job process

The full Job process

Previous topic Next topic  

The full Job process

Previous topic Next topic JavaScript is required for the print function  

Jobs can be entered and invoiced in one go, however in most workshops we would follow a more step by step process. For example:

Book In Job - When the customer first books in the Job. Set the date as the date you intend to do it. Where possible give it a provisional technician so we can see how the time is being booked up. Note: If there is a Workshop Operator called .UNALLOCATED it will be in the first column and will change the Technician in charge when moving. If the Job Template is set to have linked Parts then these are allocated at this time. If Parts are required set the Parts Status to 'Check Parts' so the Parts department can ensure any parts that may be needed are available. There are also options to schedule a 'Job Booked' reminder to be sent to help prevent No Shows. Note: It will only do this if a).The Job is booked more than 2 days in advance, b).The contact has had the Reminder option set to Email or SMS, c).The Notification details in Settings / System / Comms have been set.

Pre-Allocating Parts for the Job - Parts can be booked to a Job at any stage but most workshops like to organise the parts before the job comes in so it can be completed in the minimum of time. The parts staff can see all Jobs that have the Parts Status to 'Check Parts' (on Item Summary screen), they can then either allocated them or special order them by booking those parts to the job. They would also normally move the physical parts to a workshop allocation area. (See: Booking additional parts to Job section below). When the parts are ordered the Job Parts Status should change to 'Parts Ordered'. When the parts have been received the job Parts Status should change to 'Parts OK'.

Marking the Job as Available - When the customer brings the unit in we can change the status to 'Available' and add any additional details from the customer. With walk in Jobs the 'Book book in and this stage can be done together.

Job Management - In an ideal world we would book in just the right amount of work each day under each technician and we would not need to do any job management. However in reality we get No-Shows, we get held up waiting for un-expected parts, and jobs get completed quicker or slower than expected. So we need to manage the Jobs so that the technicians always have work to do and the jobs get done in the right order. We would normally do this in the 'Day', 'Week' or 'List' view of the organiser. The aim is normally to fill up the time for each technician, either by dragging the job to a different time or technician or by editing the details. If we have un-finished jobs from previous days we may need to bring them forward. Or if we have 'No Shows' we may want to delete them. You can do this by selecting 'Old Logs' from the left menu. If we still have spare times we may want to move 'Available' jobs from the future days to the day you are working on.

Booking Time to the Job - Technicians would normally log their time their time spent on each job (or other Internal tasks) in the 'Log Time' screen. When they log in the Log Screen will show all the Jobs allocated to them. They would normally process each job in order. If there are no Jobs shown it it possible to select 'Show Jobs for other engineers' although this is usually controlled by the workshop manager. Technicians can also perform pre-determined internal task, for example when starting work the first task is normally 'Setup' (moving any units out of the workshop), or a technician may need to assist a customer so they would select 'Customer Assist', or if going on a paid break they would select 'Break'. When starting a new Job or Task the system will automatically log them off the previous one. When going home or going to lunch they would select 'Lunch/Home'.

Booking Additional Parts to the Job - The recommended (new) way to book Parts is to select 'Sales', then 'Recall', select the Job option (This can be pre-set to be the default option), then after confirming the job details (and changing any description), the system will show which parts have already been booked out. You can then add any additional parts. You can then either press 'Hold' to book the additional parts or select 'Finish' and then 'Book to Job' if you want an updated Jobcard printed with the all the parts shown.  Alternatively you can Booked parts by entering on a blank transaction, select 'Finish' and then select 'Book to Job' and select the Job.

Hold Up work on a Job (If required) - Sometimes a customer may be un-decided on whether to proceed. We can change the Status of the Job to 'Hold' which will remove it from the Diary. When starting again we would normally go to the 'List' mode to recall it and change the  Status.

Mark Job Ready - When the Job has been completed the technician would normally review the Job by selecting Sales, Recall and ensure the correct amount of Labour and Hours are entered, the Job description is correct and that all Parts and Sundries have been added. They can then select 'Hold' from the left menu and change the Status to 'Ready'.  This will also remove the Job from the diary (Unless Completed is selected). If the Technician is authorised to Approve a Job this step may be skipped and the status could be changed directly to Approved (See Mark Job Approved)

Mark Job Approved - Many workshop managers like to have 2 checks that the Job has been detailed correctly. The Technician would normally mark the Job as 'Ready' when completed after checking all parts and labour is correct. The Workshop manager would then review any 'Ready' Job and re-check that the correct amount of Labour and Hours are invoiced, the Job description is correct and that all Parts and Sundries have been added. When satisfied they would select 'Hold' and change the Job Status to 'Approved'. Alternatively they could select Finish and print off the Invoice on Account (Customers would normally pay the account when collecting the Job.  Setting the Job to 'Approved' or Invoicing the Job can automate the sending of an SMS or Email to  the customer telling them the unit is ready (This is dependent on the Contact 'Reminder' settings and the Notification settings in Settings / System / Comms).

Invoice Job - The Job can be invoiced as soon as it is approved, or when the customer arrives to pick it up. The Job should have been reviewed at  the previous 'Ready' and/or 'Approved' stages so it should be very simple and quick to finish off when the customer arrives (and they may want something added). Some workshops prefer to invoice on account prior to customer coming in, and then enter the payment when the customer arrives. Note: If you put on Account always check the due date on the Invoice Finish screen to see when payment is required (in-case credit is available).

Job Follow-up Reminders - You have the option to schedule a Follow-up message to be sent (SMS or Email) a certain time after the Job has been invoiced. This is dependent on the Contact 'Reminder' settings and the Notification settings in Settings / System / Comms.

Service Reminders - Evopos also has the option to automatically send Service Reminders. This only needs to be setup once via the Scheduler. For this to work the Job Codes for Service Templates need to start with 'SER'. Every day the schedule is run and will look for Services which were completed a set time ago (Normally 11 Months). It will also check that the service was not brought in early or already booked. This is dependent on the Contact 'Reminder' settings

Re-occurring Jobs - You can set Evopos up so that when you invoice one job another job can be automatically created a specified number of days away. These settings are set in Job Templates so you can have different templates with different periods and varying Job Templates.